Look out, Jesus. Mister Rogers is gaining on you.

I intend this blog to consist of primarily devotional or teaching writings, and to avoid snarky sound bites and tweet-worthy vacuity.

But I feel like I just have to get word out to Jesus on this one.  He is facing stiff competition…from Mister Rodgers.

That’s right.  According to this article on Today.com, “Rocked by tragedy, people turn to Mr. Rogers for comfort and wisdom“.  According to the article, the recent terrorist bombing at Britain’s Manchester Arena has people taking to social media with a quote from Mr. Rogers:

When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers.  You will always find people who are helping.”

Huh.  Sentimentality aside (as well as the fact that Mr. Rogers has been dead for 14 years), that quote doesn’t do much for me.  I think I will stick with Jesus’ promises instead:  he will never leave me or forsake me (Hebrews 13:5; Deuteronomy 31:6), he will be with me (Matthew 28:20), and many, many more promises of providence, comfort, guidance, salvation and life.

Not only does Jesus offer a much better deal than Mr. Rogers, he is a much more credible source, having actually proven his love and power for me through his death and resurrection.  That is a for me a much bigger deal for me than just “looking for helpers.”

I can’t think of a more clear-cut example of modern idolatry than people turning to Mr. Rogers for comfort and wisdom, while at the same time utterly rejecting Jesus, his Comforter, and his Word.

I know, I know:  Mr. Rogers sings that I am special.  Well I don’t care.  I will gladly give up being special in order to cling to the One who has saved me, who provides for me, who comforts me, and who is preparing an eternal place for me.

Leave a Reply

